The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said Senator Theodore Orji of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), winner of the central senatorial elections in Abia.

Orji won 55,461 votes against his closest rival, Senator Nkechi Nwaogu of the Progressive General Congress (PCA), who won 29,860 votes, according to the NAN.

Mr. Chidi Ajaegbu, candidate of the Grand Progressive Alliance (APGA), received 19,534 votes, while the leader Chidi Nwosu of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) obtained 753 votes.

Announcing the results Monday in Umuahia, the returning officer for the Senate district, Professor Yusuf Omeh, said that Orji was the winner, having garnered the highest number of votes cast.

Omeh said that there were 106,821 votes out of the 114,069 votes cast during the election.

Thus, INEC said Chief Sam Onuigbo winner of the IKWUANO / UMUAHIA poll in federal constituencies.

Onuigbo, who ran on the PDP’s platform for the second term, polled 30,669 to defeat his closest rival, Martin Apugo of the APC, who collected 23,279 votes.

Uba Macdold won 10,312 votes, while Charles Nzechi of the Labor Party (LP) won 559 votes.

Teacher. Georgina Ugwuanyi, returning officer for the constituency, who announced the result in Umuahia, said the winner.

He stated that 12,232 votes were valid on the 13,192 votes cast during the election.

Onuigbo thus became the first person to be re-elected to the House of Representatives for a second term in the constituency.

Meanwhile, Joshua Ogbonna, PCA’s representative for the House of Representatives elections, refused to countersign the results sheet, alleging irregularities in the results.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.